For Premium only: Who do you want in the next Champions Chess Tour event?

The Airthings Masters looks set to reach a thrilling climax – but we’re already thinking about the next big event.

The third stop on the Champions Chess Tour, the richest and most prestigious online chess event ever, will start on February 6, 2021, and end on the 14th.

And, just like we did before both the Airthings Masters and the Skilling Open, we are offering YOU the chance to have your say on the line-up.

The next tournament will be a “Regular” with a $100,000 prize pot and 16 players taking part.

The eight quarter-finalists in the Airthings Masters (technically the eight leaders of the Champions Chess Tour) have already qualified for an invite. That means there will be at least eight spots left to fill.

Two will be decided by our valued Premium members: one in this vote that runs until Saturday, and there will be another chance to vote for your favourites in January.

So who would you like to see in the February event?

You can choose to vote for:

  1. Netherlands No.1, Anish Giri

  2. Former World Blitz Champ, Le Quang Liem

  3. China’s No.1, Ding Liren

  4. Chess Olympiad gold medallist, Vidit Gujrathi

  5. Eight-time Russian Champ, Peter Svidler

  6. Former world title challenger, Sergey Karjakin

  7. India’s No.2, Pentala Harikrishna

  8. Former US Champ, Sam Shankland

  9. Three-time World Blitz Champ, Alexander Grischuk

Once we have your choices the remaining spots will be filled by the winners of qualifying tournaments and chess24 wild cards. More details of those events will be announced in the New Year.

For the players, this is a huge deal. Right now, the Champions Chess Tour is the biggest game in town and they want to be part of it.

The tournament winner in February will pocket a cool $30,000 top prize plus a seat in the next “Major” in March.

Remember, voting is open only to Premium members.

If for any reason the poll winner can’t make the event, the chance will be offered to the next on the list. Voting will end on Sunday, January 3rd at 00:00 CET and the winner will be announced on the following day. The process for stage one is simple: complete this poll!

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: